Tripura High Court Bar Asso election: BJP legal cell candidates defeated in key posts

 Equal number of posts were shared in the Tripura High Court Bar Association (THCBA) elections on Saturday as the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won the posts of Vice-President and Assistant Secretary while the opposition CPI-M and Congress sponsored panel won the key posts of President and Secretary.

The election perceives a huge excitement with several candidates won by a margin of just one or two vote.

President Sankar Kumar Deb and Secretary Pranabashis Majumdar won their posts as nominees of the “Save Constitution Forum”, an alliance of Communist Party of India-Marxist and Congress.

While, the ruling BJP sponsored “Law and Legal Affairs” candidate Haradhan Sarkar and Sumit Debnath won the posts of Vice-President and Assistant Secretary respectively.

“Save Constitution Forum” candidate Saugat Datta secured another post of Assistant Secretary and the forum’s contenders Kawsik Nath, Sagar Banik and Saikat Saha won the Executive Member posts.

“Law and Legal Affairs” backed candidate Rajib Saha managed to win the post of Treasurer and it’s candidates Riya Chakraborty, Dipa Sengupta, Pradyot Maishan Aand Anujit Dey secured the posts of Executive Member.

The THCBA elections’ Returning officer Bibek Banerjee after declaring the results said out of the total of 190 voters (all lawyers) 182 electorates cast their votes in a tension griped situation. The high profile THCBA elections stirred the prevailing political situation in BJP ruled Tripura.(Agartala,IANS)